Cancer and Terrorism

Thousands Of Syrian Refugees Seek Shelter In Makeshift Camps In Jordan

ZA’ATARI, JORDAN – FEBRUARY 01: 

On June 16, 2015 turned out to be my personal 9/11, I was told I had cancer.

It created fear, doubt, and the anxiety for my very survival.  I allowed this to bleed over into my children, my wife, and my close family.

The events in Paris have done the exact same thing but only on a global scale.  The world is now worried the events of Paris will now visit their country, neighborhood, or God forbid their very homes.

Is any of it really rational?  Odds say probably not.

Odds of dying in terrorist attack are roughly 1 in 20 million

Odds of dying in a car crash 1 in 19,000

Yet we don’t scream about shutting down all auto makers?

Odds of being struck by lighting 1 in 8.5 million.

I have cardiac sarcoma one of, if not the rarest forms of cancers on earth in the United States 98 people will be diagnosed with this disease on an annual basis.  There is no cure only the will to fight to survive.

Yet it has caused fear in all those around me, not because they are going to get it, but because I am afraid.  Afraid of  leaving my boys, afraid of leaving my family, and mostly fear of leaving my wife………..but is the fear rational?

Not really, we are all going to die, the only variables are when and how.

So the thought that thousands of refugees seeking a safer place to live causes fear in Americans is a head scratcher to me, you are more likely to die in a car crash, drown in your own bathtub or God forbid find out you have cancer.

Americans killed by terrorism in 2014 estimated at 25.

Americans killed in Chicago alone 390

Americans killed by cancer 585,720

Fear is relative and usually unfounded.  It is a natural part of the human condition, but keep in mind it is not always as bad as it could be….

cancer-child

PERSPECTIVE

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

